Makeup Favorites

Happy Thursday everyone! It’s almost the weekend, yay. I hope you all had an amazing but productive week so far. This is my very first post about makeup. So I’m going to tell you all about my favorites. I hope you enjoy reading about them.

I feel like I’ve got a good mixture of drugstore and high end makeup favorites. Now let me say this, I kind of stick to drugstore foundations because I feel like some of them work just as well as high end. So I don’t really test out high end foundations that often. But I do love testing out high end eyeshadows and finding my new favorites. That’s just what I peter to spend my money on.

My mom has always told me not to wear to much face makeup. When I was younger( like in high school) she wouldn’t let me try liquid foundation. I could only use powder foundation, which I was fine with. I mean I was only going to school with people I would never see again after graduation. Then I was just coming home. I never really had bad skin during high school so I was like ok sure. And actually I never really got into makeup until after high school anyway. I was never that girl who was completely obsessed with makeup in high school. I only really knew the basics. Powder, concealer(sometimes), blush, eyeshadow and mascara. That was it.

It wasn’t until I graduated, turned 18 and started watching YouTube that I really started to get into makeup. But now I love it. It’s not so much as oh I NEED to put on makeup everyday. It’s more like I want to put on makeup because I enjoy it. It’s like a hobby for me now, it’s fun.

So let’s get onto my favorites. Let’s start with face products first. My favorite primer at the moment is Smashbox Photo Finish Foundation Primer. Casey Holmes on YouTube recommended this primer and she has really oily skin just like me and I trust her recommendations 100%. So I decided to give it a try and I can honestly say I do think this has changed my foundation routine. I feel like it really does make my foundation last a lot longer. Yes it’s high end but I can honestly say it works great for my skin. Now my favorite foundation at the moment is drugstore. It’s the Maybelline Fit Me! Matte and Poreless liquid foundation. I truly think this foundation is amazing. It doesn’t make me more oily then I already am. It covers up everything. Now I will say that wherever you touch the most on your face the foundation does come off. But I can look past that. Next is powder I use the matching Fit Me! powder because I do think they work well together and keep me pretty matte throughout the day. The powder is called Fit me! Matte and Poreless and I think it works great.

For concealer I use the DreamLumi touch highlighting concealer by Maybelline. You will see in this post how much I like maybelline. I think they are one of the best drugstore makeup brands out there. For blush I use the NYX Ombre Blush. I think this is a pretty good blush. You do need to use a light hand for this. But I think the color is beautiful and they stay on all day. Which I think is pretty impressive.

My eyeshadow favorite has been Too Faced Semi Sweet Chocolate Bar Palette. I love this palette. I think the eyeshadows are amazing. This is my first ever Too Faced Palette and I already hit pan on it. I would love to try all of Too Faced eyeshadow palettes. My favorite mascara right now is Maybelline Lash Sensational Full Fan Effect mascara. I heard Zoe Zugg aka Zoella on YouTube rave about it so I just had to give it a try. I really love it, I think it’s one of the best Mascaras.

I thought I would share with you my favorite drugstore beauty blender dupe as well. It the beauty blender from Elf. I got it as a Christmas present last year, they came in a set of three and I think they work pretty darn good for a drugstore dupe. To set my face I’ve been loving Maybelline Master fix by Facestudio. I think it works great and keeps my makeup in place pretty much all day.

So there you have it my current makeup favorites. I hope you have enjoyed learning what I’ve been loving recently. Let me know what your recent favorites are in the comments. I would love to know. Thank you for reading. I hope you all have a wonderful rest of the week.

-Brooke

Author: Brooke Alexis

20 year old girl who loves animals and photography. But has a hard time putting her thoughts into words she can say out loud. So I decided to start a blog about my life journey as a Christian girl.

Leave a Reply

