Volunteer

So I started volunteering at my local Humane Society a couple of months ago and I absolutely LOVE it. It makes me get out of the house, which can be hard for someone that has anxiety. But not only that it changes my mood almost instantly when I get there. The animals get so happy when they see you and that makes me happy.

How did I get into volunteering? Well I NEEDED something that would get me out of the house. My home is my comfort zone and my anxiety made it so hard to go out and do things(especially by myself). But being stuck at home by myself was not good for my health either. Volunteering was a huge step for me because it meant that I would have to get in my car and drive to some where by myself. But my whole life I knew what my passion was…animals and helping them. So my dad suggested that I go to a shelters volunteer orientation and just see, I said ok.

I knew I wanted to help animals but I also knew that volunteering at an Animal Shelter could be really hard and that I would want to take all of the animals home. But actually it really isn’t that bad. If I’m not in a great mood that day but I decided to go volunteer when I come out my mood is completely changed. I’m in such a great mood when I leave because I know that I made the animals I have played with a little more comfortable and happy. They really do make my day and I think we make their day a little better too.

It is though very hard to not get attached to the animals you play with. And it is so hard leaving them at the end of the day and you never know if they will be there the next day because they could get adopted by then. Which is amazing for them! I always smile when I go on Facebook and see the dog that I’ve been hanging out with going to a new home.

I will never forget the first dog I got to hang out with on my first day (and for a couple of weeks after). She was a little Chihuahua named Sierra. She was so sweet and loving and yes it was hard when I saw that she got adopted because we bonded so much. But there was also so much joy in my heart for her knowing that she was going to a new home who will love her so much and take good care of her.

I now volunteer at not only my local Humane Society but also at my local Animal Shelter. I just loved the feeling I got when I knew that I gave the animals joy and some peace of mind that I wanted to help more animals. So I would totally recommend anyone to volunteer. But volunteer some where that has the same passion as you. It doesn’t have  to be at your local shelter. Anywhere that makes you happy and change your mood when you leave will be awesome.

I hope you have enjoyed reading my volunteering journey. Volunteering has truly changed me for the better. Please comment if you volunteer anywhere or if you want to start volunteering. I would love to hear your stories.

-Brooke

Author: Brooke Alexis

20 year old girl who loves animals and photography. But has a hard time putting her thoughts into words she can say out loud. So I decided to start a blog about my life journey as a Christian girl.

2 thoughts on “Volunteer”

Leave a Reply

